Moreplay versus Foreplay 3 and some questions

sl-15 · 1936

Offline sl-15

on: August 21, 2021, 10:58:55 AM
Hi everybody, I have been using a Foreplay 3 since 2008 and upgraded to the extended version (EF3) eventually.
I am still using it every day and am pretty happy with the sound.
I am curious about the Moreplay and if it has any sonic advantage over the EF3.
Are there any current Moreplay users that have some insight?
And onto the technical question does the Moreplay invert phase like the Foreplay does?
Thanks, Best, Stefan

Stefan Hampel
Soundsmith Carmen, modded Technics SL-1200mkII, Thorens TD 125 mk2 with SME V, Eros, Extended Foreplay III, BeePre2, Crack, Pioneer Spec 4, Sonus Faber Electa

Offline Thermioniclife

Reply #1 on: August 21, 2021, 01:39:05 PM
I do not know if this helps because I do not have a Moreplay but I had FP3 and just recently made 2 FP3 type preamps with some twists, one of which is extended. I love them. The Moreplay may use a cathode follower as the output so it would be phase inverting as the FP3.
But do not despair because the human ear doe's  not have the ability to  discern the difference between compression and rarefaction.
what this means is as long as the speakers are wired in phase your good.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2021, 02:37:25 PM by Thermioniclife »

Lee R.

Offline Cary

Reply #2 on: August 21, 2021, 01:48:03 PM
Hi Stefan,

We have met in a couple of events, I have represented Bottlehead at Burning Amp. Are you still living in the East Bay? I have a Moreplay that I can bring over so you can hear the difference. Let me know. I have been vaccinated, had a Covid test which I tested negative, and have been very careful concerning social distancing.

Cary Chin
« Last Edit: August 22, 2021, 06:58:36 AM by Cary »

Offline sl-15

Reply #3 on: August 21, 2021, 03:21:39 PM