Which Product to Drive Klipsch RP 600M

bpopovich · 1392

Offline bpopovich

on: September 23, 2021, 09:19:52 AM
I've looked around the forums and saw a couple conflicting thoughts.  I'm a novice with a lot of this, so your patience is appreciated :)  I'm thinking of purchasing a kit that will help me drive my turntable and dac to Klipsch RP 600Ms.  I currently use the Denon PMA 600NE, but wanted to have a tube amp as an option.  So I have a couple product questions and then a general setup question.  The room I'm in is only about 12x18 or so, and I'm not looking to blow out the windows or anything.  Any explanations behind the answers to educate me as I get further on this journey is appreciated, but a short answer will do too!  Thanks in advance.

1) Can I put something like a Moreplay Preamp into into the AUX input in the Denon and get decent results?  The Denon has a source direct switch.
2) Can the SEX drive the Klipsch RP 600M?  I saw someone in the forums paired the Moreplay with the SEX with them with success, so yes? I assume the Moreplay wouldn't be required.
3) It seems like the Stereomour would work as the RP600M claim 96db sensitivity, but I read that the RP 600Ms might not actually hit that mark, but a lot of people say a lot of things on reddit :)
4) The Kaiju is likely out of my price range (would save up if it made sense) but I read in these forums that someone else tried them with RP600M and got some hum.
5) Other options/alternatives?

In essence I'm just hoping to find a tube kit that I can use with a turntable/DAC into my Klipsch RP 600Ms.

Thanks again!

Ben Popovich

Offline Mucker

Reply #1 on: September 23, 2021, 10:00:21 AM
I also have Klipsch RP 600M and will be ordering a S3X. I am mainly getting it to drive my planar HiFiMAN HE6se and Beyer DT 1990 Pro but I am thinking it should handle the 600M just fine. Also thinking of using it as a preamp for my Emotiva XPA-2 Gen 2 power amp. I will be delighted if it serves all three purposes.