Passive Pre with remote control for 1 of 3 sources

syncro · 261

Offline syncro

• syncro architecture studio
on: February 29, 2024, 11:16:39 AM
My Foreplay is the center of the system.  Happy to adjust volume manually for most listening, sources.   On one input, however, (streaming video sources) I want to add a remote volume control with mute in front of the Foreplay preamp.  I'd like to build a passive preamp with a single, stereo, volume control to attenuate one of the Foreplay's inputs.

What value of the volume potentiometer should I select?  I have read Mr. P. Joppa's input impedance post, and other similar topics, but not being an electrical engineer I only understand enough to be dangerous.    It sounds like a 10Kohm value will be best, as that is below the 33Kohm - ... of the Foreplay's input impedance. 

Suggestions for hardware for a simple passive preamp with remote control.  An Alps RK168 12MG-F20-A103-M0 looks about right from what I know and don't know.

David Bogle
LinnLP12>Hagerman Piccolo>Hagerman Ripper / Musical Fidelity V-90 DAC / Sansui TU-717>BottleheadFPIII>Yamaha M-45>Klipsch ForteII

Offline Gerry E.

Reply #1 on: February 29, 2024, 11:58:06 AM
Hi:

You didn’t specify a price range but here’s one option:

https://khozmo.com/

Gerry

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #2 on: February 29, 2024, 01:40:30 PM
If this is a Foreplay III, the input impedance depends on the resistors populating the terminal strips by the selector switch, and I would expect it to be over  50K in most situations.

Can you describe the rest of your system?  Power amps? Speakers? Active subwoofer?

It's quite possible that the best place for a remote attenuator module is between the Foreplay and your amplifiers.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline syncro

Reply #3 on: March 02, 2024, 09:24:46 AM