Considering a S.E.X kit but it seems impossible to find 6FJ7 tubes?

Arnaud · 1467

Offline Arnaud

Hi All,

I'm new to the DIY scene and have been researching DIY tube Amp. The SEX kit seems to tick a lot of boxes:
- Ideally headphones (including low impedance) and speakers
- Point to point seems better than PCB based and I guess I will get more enjoyment and understanding from building it?

One thing that is stopping me for now is that 6FJ7 tubes seem impossible to source at the moment? Any alternative tubes that would work?

And maybe a strange question to be asking on here, but how does the SEX compares to the Starving Student II and the Elekit TU-8200R, even though I appreciate they both are slightly different price range

Thanks

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Before we released the new SEX kit, we bought up all the loose 6FJ7s floating around.  I would expect them to replenish and right now you can get some spares from vacuumtubesinc.com.

The Starving Student is really more of a simplified hybrid amp that looks a lot more like a Crack on paper but the FET source follower has boatloads of transconductance and the output impedance is super low consequently. 

The TU-8200R is similar conceptually but with smaller iron and a nicer box.  The specifications listed show 8W of power but do not indicate how low you can go at that power level, nor what the THD at those power measurements might be.  If a Lundahl transformer upgrade is available for that amp, that would be a good idea.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2022, 07:25:33 AM by Paul Birkeland »

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Karl5150

I have built two SEX amps and the SSII.
I think the SSII is a very good sounding HP amp with a couple of cool features, but the SEX amp is the real deal.
I use a lightly modified SEX 2. amp as my daily-driver at work with speakers and a SEX 3. at home in a custom single channel speaker/stereo HP setup.