Just your run of the mill 60hz hum

polytrigon · 1466

Offline polytrigon

on: February 22, 2023, 07:22:35 PM
So I assembled the S.E.X 2.1 about 10 years ago with my father. He was an electrical engineer in a past life and was very knowledgeable and skilled at getting it all in one piece.  Flash forward to now and i've finally gotten around to putting my phono back to use and I had forgotten that there was somewhat of a hum when i plugged in my apple hifi to the headphone jack.

Now as a disclaimer I am a junkyards wars kind of EE, I have very little knowledge but have soldered a ton of drones and other doodads so if you show me a wire diagram I'll pass out, but if you ask me to solder some bits together I'll do so without burning myself. What I'm trying to say is that I'm a noob so please feel free to talk to me like you're talking to a baby elephant. I do however have some experience troubleshooting so I'll just lay out the information at my fingertips.

I've since ordered the C4S kit, hoping that it further reduces the hum but in the meantime I wanted to see if this is just normal or if I've done something wrong.

Oh I also went through the forums and read a bunch of other threads that sound similar. I checked all the solder joints and use a chopstick to poke at everything to make sure that it wasn't a bad joint.

- phono turned off
- apple hifi plugged into headphone jack
-  tubes in
= 60hz hum (what sounds to me as the 60hz hum, I've listened to some youtube videos and it sounds similar)

Additional notes:

- if I adjust the volume the hum does not increase or decrease
- if I remove the tubes the hum goes away completely
- I had a handful of tubes and i went through different pairs and found one specific set that has significantly less hum