Does Stereomour II Amp come with tubes or need to purchase tubes separately?

decommo · 1531

Offline decommo

Hello,

Total newbie here and keen to get hands on Stereomour II amp to build and use it with high sensitivity OB speakers.
I could not find any info whether matching tubes come with the kit or tubes are needed to be purchased separately.

Can any experienced member enlighten me on this?

Thank you...

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Tubes are included.

Paul Joppa

Offline decommo

Thank you so much. Great to know that it comes with matching tubes which is great relief..

May I ask what brand of 2A3 and 12AT7 tubes are come with?

Lastly, I am trying to match it with 97db at 8ohm sensitivity speakers and does it mean I need DC Filament Upgrade to avoid hum noise with high sensitivity speakers?

Thank you again.

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
My guess is that at 97dB sensitivity you are on the edge; probably fine without the DC filament power, but it's hard to predict - there are too many variables.

That's the main reason the DC supply is a separate item. You can pick one up later if you feel the need.

We generally encourage customers to build the stock kit first, and listen to it until it is reasonably well broken in - something like 100 hours of music, usually. It's far easier to debug a standard build, and the forum will be able to offer more help if there are any issues. Plus, if you do install any of the upgrades, you will be able to hear for yourself what effect they have.

Hopefully Doc B or PB will chime on on the tubes currently shipped.

Paul Joppa

Offline Tom-s

In my experience with SII it’s fine without the DC filament upgrade.
This is with my 99db/w Klipsch Heresy. With a pair of 102db Cornwall it’s perfectly fine with some more quiet tubes and not so much with noisy ones. It’s partially tube dependent.

Offline decommo