Kaiju Speaker Capacity

Emoreigns · 1032

Offline Emoreigns

on: November 22, 2023, 06:22:44 AM
What kind of speakers can the Kaiju run? 8 Watts per channel does not sound like a lot? Kind of a noob here; so perhaps I am missing something-

Is the Kaiju meant for some special low powered speakers or something? My dad passed down some old Bose 65 Watt speakers that I was hoping about hooking up to the Kaiju and starting my Loudspeaker chain now that I finished my Crack build..

If anyone could help clarify the Speaker Capacity of the Kaiju; I sure would appreciate it!

Thanks-

~Happy Listening

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: November 22, 2023, 06:50:36 AM
For ages we would go by the rule that you want to get to 102dB or so of output, so that would land you on a speaker that's about 93dB at 8 ohms/2.83V.  Then we had a long stretch where people were using 87dB sensitive Fostex based speakers with our 3.5W Stereomour integrated with pretty good satisfaction, so that previous recommendation went out the window a little bit (despite being based on very sound principles).

The other considerations for loudspeakers would be the impedance curve of the speakers themselves (observing whether there are generous low dips that would cause one to wire the amp for a lower impedance speaker), how large your room is, and what you listen to. 

Having said all that, you can get good results from a wide range of pretty common and easily found speakers.  If you post the model number of your Bose speakers, we can look into how suitable those might be, but there are decent speaker kits and used speakers floating around for less than $200 that can work well, and our Pipette speaker will cooperate nicely with a 300B amp if you have a spare sub available to pair with it.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Emoreigns

Reply #2 on: November 22, 2023, 08:22:23 AM
Thanks for the help again Paul-