Hakko FX-888

debk · 10380

Offline debk

on: March 20, 2011, 02:57:27 AM
Does anyone have any experience with the new Hakko FX-888?  This is the replacement for the old discontinued 936.

My 15 year old Weller WTCPT is on its last leg and I am thinking of replacing it with the Hakko FX-888

Thanks
Debra

Debra K

Eros 2Phono amp
BeePre2, Psvane ACME 300b
Kaiju, Linlai Elite  300b
Monamour 2a3 amps various tubes
Sota Sapphire, Pete Riggle Woody Tonearm, Kiseki Purpleheart Cartridge
Rega P6 Ania Pro cartridge
Roon Nucleus
MHDT Labs Orchid DAC
Jager speakers

Offline howardnair

Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, 03:14:06 AM
yes -i just had one arrive at my door -used it to make interconnects the other day--very nice--much of a improvement on the hakko 936- its predecessor-a nice blue color to boot--

Offline John Roman

Reply #2 on: March 20, 2011, 06:45:16 AM
Hello Debra,
I've been using a 936 for several years without issue.  If I recall correctly I paid over $100 for the 936. With the redesigned tip and faster recovery time the 888 seems a decent replacement. Not sure it makes much difference but I've always wanted a digital temp read out on mine just to be sure what temp works best for different applications... that's probably just me being picky though.
regards,
John

Regards,
John
Extended Foreplay 3 / 300B Paramount's / BassZilla open baffle/ Music Streamer 2 / Lenovo Y560-Win7-JRMC & JPlay

Offline Mike F1

• Flyball Equipmemt
Reply #3 on: March 20, 2011, 07:15:15 AM
I had a Weller SPG40 and when I first got it I thought it was pretty good. Used it for a couple of years with okay results. I tried various tips but never got the results I was hoping for. Two years ago I got a Hakko 936 and it is great! It heats up really fast, recovers fast, pulses and has a skinnier gun which I like better.
I think it a great product and has served me well and would hesitate to buy another one.

Mike

Offline Maxwell_E

Reply #4 on: March 20, 2011, 09:28:46 AM