Should 12AU7 tubes in Foreplay III be hot?

Mr. Lin · 3797

Offline Mr. Lin

on: October 24, 2011, 11:32:41 PM
Hello, I'm new to the Bottlehead forum.  Two weeks ago I completed my Foreplay III kit, and now I'm working on Paramours.  Due to a number of circumstances, I purchased the kits nearly five years ago and they've been sitting in boxes until now.  I'm thrilled with the Foreplay btw.

My question is this:  I've noticed that after use - playing music for a while - the 12AU7 tubes get very hot.  Hot enough that they're uncomfortable to touch for about 5-10 seconds after the Foreplay is turned off.  I've never known small signal tubes to get that hot, and I'm concerned because a lot of the 12AU7 tubes I own are very expensive NOS ones, and I wonder if something is wrong that could shorten the tubes life or outright damage it. 

My voltage and resistance checks are ok.  I did notice nearly all my voltages are a little higher than what's in the manual, but well within the 10-15% indicated as being acceptable there. 

Thanks!

David Obal: Hi-fi enthusiast & music lover.

Playing at the moment:
Naim CD5i-2
Foreplay III
Pro-Ject Head Box SE (modded)
Grado 325i headphones
Homemade cables

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 11:54:39 PM
David,

Tubes get hot.  That is all there is to it.  So what you are experiencing is normal.  It looks like you are fine.

If you need to remove a tube that has been working just use a soft cloth to pull it out.  That is what I do and is handy for comparing the sonic signatures of different tubes. 

There are a large number of tubes with different numbers that roll into the 12AU7 spots.

Here is a thread to expand your horizons:

http://www.bottlehead.com/smf/index.php/topic,1027.0.html

Offline Mr. Lin

Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 12:38:56 AM