Crossover thoughts?

saildoctor · 4070

Offline saildoctor

on: June 10, 2012, 11:59:43 AM
Hi folks - I'm using some Tekton 8.1's in my system which were built with Fostex FE207e full range drivers plus T-90a 'supertweeters'.  They're monitor style cabinets which measure 10.5"x17.5" and they're 13.5" but i don't know the internal volume.  It came with a crossover built on the inside - I know some basics of crossover design like the concept of BSC and whatnot, but I'm no expert.  I upgraded the resistors inside to mills non-inductive type and the caps to Obligatto gold film.  Any thoughts on possible improvements?  The inductor looks like one of those available at Madisound - no label on them so I don't know their value.  Do you think it's inclusion very necessary?  At the very least I'd like to upgrade it to something a little nicer.  
« Last Edit: June 10, 2012, 12:01:14 PM by saildoctor »

Kerry Sherwin

45 Paramounts, 6SN7 Extended FPIII, OC3 regulated Seduction
Blumenstein Orca Deluxe / 2x Orca Subs
VPI Classic / ADC CD-100x

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: June 10, 2012, 01:22:13 PM
Use a cliplead (pack of 10, cheap, at Radio Shack. Millions of uses!) to short out the inductor and listen, to see if it's worthwhile to you.

Paul Joppa

Offline earwaxxer

Reply #2 on: June 10, 2012, 05:37:32 PM