Channel balance

Zimmer64 · 4290

Offline Zimmer64

• Blog
on: November 30, 2012, 09:10:28 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie to the DIY community and just finished a Quickie as my first preamp project. I am not an engineer and really just a hobbyist.

I had started with a Gainclone amp and fullrange speakers. Then I needed a pre and since I am fascinated with tubes I stumbled accross bottlehead and really loved the idea of a batterie powered, easy to build kit. ( I am also about to build a CD player in order have a complete Hifi system made by myself, but that is a different story :-).

I really like the sound quality of the Quickie, but I have a noticeable difference in volume between the left and the right channel (right is louder). Is that caused by the pot or might there be another reason?

If it is a function of the pot (I am aware that at the price point of the entire kit, that the pot is probably not a super quality one :-), what kind of upgrade is recommended? Alps? Noble? Or a stepped attenuator? I saw one on the web. Has anyone experience with http://www.8audio-mall.com/servlet/the-382/100K-24-Step-Ladder/Detail? Anything else?

Any help or feedback is really appreciated.

Greetings from Switzerland

Michael

Nelson Pass F5 Turbo V2, Quickie (mod), S.E.X. 2.1, Tubes4hifi SP14, Dynaco VTA ST 70, Tubelab SSE, Vroemen Diva Superiore ER4, Jordan JX92S VTL, 47 labs 0647 CD, Aqvox DAC, Rowen Absolute pre / psu / power amps, BG Neo3 / Betsy / Eminence A15 open baffles

Offline earwaxxer

Reply #1 on: November 30, 2012, 10:52:36 AM
Hi Mike - The easiest thing to do is swap the tubes and see if that is the cause. One tube may be 'newer' NOS or something like that. The tubes are not matched, although I havent noticed any of my tubes being louder than another. If thats not it, then Paul or Granger etc may have an idea.

As far as the pot, there are many good boutique options. Alps is good start. I like my TKD. You can go stepped, etc.

Eric