Random observation on unboxing BeePre kit

dave-tx · 1872

Offline dave-tx

on: August 03, 2013, 08:01:51 AM
Finally getting around to starting the BeePre, and had to comment...This is my first time holding a 300B in my hand, and my god, that is one beautiful tube.

Offline johnsonad

Reply #1 on: August 03, 2013, 08:16:57 AM
Lol, they get better but the feeling is still the same. I've got tubes that I show guests just to see and feel the build quality.

Aaron Johnson

Offline Chris

Reply #2 on: August 03, 2013, 09:53:34 AM
Is it true that if you get oil or grease on the tube that it can crack when hot?

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: August 03, 2013, 12:05:40 PM
Is it true that if you get oil or grease on the tube that it can crack when hot?

The glass used to make the tube would have to be extremely thin, or the tube enormously hot in order for that to happen.

(IE - this is not true)

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline STURMJ

Reply #4 on: August 03, 2013, 12:57:05 PM
This might be true of high output halogen lamps, used in microscopes, projectors, headlamps. The finger grease might cause heat to acccumulate at those oily areas, ant not in the others.  With the high heat these put off you get different expansions in the glass, causing cracking (maybe).  With tubes they have much thicker glass, not nearly as hot, and much larger ( they don't heat up as fast ).

Offline Chris

Reply #5 on: August 05, 2013, 08:53:02 AM
Yes, sturmj says exactly what I have heard, but I just didnt know audio tubes are too  thick for that so thank you both... STILL, I will clean very well all my NOS tubes just in case... :)

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #6 on: August 05, 2013, 09:13:31 AM