News:
April 22, 2021, 07:50:03 PM

Author Topic: newbie : wrong DC voltage T5 and T6.  (Read 2603 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline altec604e

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: newbie : wrong DC voltage T5 and T6.
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2013, 08:29:04 AM »
Cool !    ;)

I then have a fully operational Stereomour amplifier !

I did plug inn my Submissive controller today also, it worked fine too !

The sound : in one word : GREAT !

Thanks for all help!





Signal Source : Thorens TD 124 MkI / SME 3012 / Denon DL103

Setup : Quad 44 / Bottlehead Stereomour / Altec 604E in DIY 612C cabs

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14830
Re: newbie : wrong DC voltage T5 and T6.
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2013, 10:20:44 AM »
I think what Grainger is trying to say is that the power is the constant at each of the impedance settings.  The 4 Ohm tap gives 3.5 Watts into 4 Ohms, the 8 Ohm tap gives 3.5 Watts into 8 Ohms, etc.

When you use a 16 Ohm speaker on the 4 Ohm tap, you get less power out (hence your need for for cranking up the level a bit), but with that decrease in power comes a lower noise floor and a higher damping factor. 

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline altec604e

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: newbie : wrong DC voltage T5 and T6.
« Reply #17 on: December 18, 2013, 09:45:28 PM »
Hello all,

I have one more question :

1.  Can I use my Stereomour with only one of my Alter 604E speakers connected to one of the channels for some time ; or is this not a good idea ? 

I have not finished building the second speaker cabinet.  And I do not have the time to finish it during christmas.


- altec604e


Signal Source : Thorens TD 124 MkI / SME 3012 / Denon DL103

Setup : Quad 44 / Bottlehead Stereomour / Altec 604E in DIY 612C cabs

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14830
Re: newbie : wrong DC voltage T5 and T6.
« Reply #18 on: December 19, 2013, 06:42:32 AM »
There Stereomour won't be bothered by one unloaded channel, go for it!
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline altec604e

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: newbie : wrong DC voltage T5 and T6.
« Reply #19 on: December 19, 2013, 05:59:46 PM »
Yes!  Thanks for the input !

Signal Source : Thorens TD 124 MkI / SME 3012 / Denon DL103

Setup : Quad 44 / Bottlehead Stereomour / Altec 604E in DIY 612C cabs