Bottlehead Kits > Reduction

Newbie with a green field

(1/3) > >>

SammyJ:
Hello Folks,
So I've been looking around for some time and I'm really excited to dive into the Bottlehead world.  I'm relatively new to getting serious about hi-fi audio but have been dabbling for years.  I'm quite green with electronics, though I do plan on completing some simple kits from Adafruit to help shore up my soldering skills.  Until now, I've managed to put a mod chip into a Playstation (as a teen) and have managed to fry an XBox trying to do the same thing.  Still though, I'm a maker at heart, so I'm excited at the possibilities.

OK, so, a couple of questions.  Being that I'm quite green in both DIY electronics and I was hoping for some guidance.  Currently, I'm running a Pro-Ject RPM 1.3 with a Sumiko Pearl cartridge.  It's feeding directly into a Kenwood AR404 stereo reciever phono input, which then powers two soon-to-be Focal 706's.  I'd like to start putting together a system to replace the Kenwood at the heart of my system.  Rather than buying off the rack, I figured I'd start building.  Here's the current setup:

Sources:
Macbook Pro (eventually it'll have a proper DAC on it, but right now, it's the stock DAC on the MBP)
Pro-Ject Turntable

Output:
Focal 706 Bookshelves (rated at 90db sensitivity)
Either HD598, HD650 or a lower end pair of Grado's

I was thinking I'd start off with a Reduction and hook it into a line-in on the Kenwood.  Afterwards, I'd replace the Kenwood altogether with maybe a Stereomour?  What are your thoughts on that? 

Reduction questions:
1. Does this approach sound reasonable?
2. Does this thing output enough power to power some headphones or is that crazy talk?

A couple of Stereomour questions (didn't want to crosspost into that forum, but may if this isn't the right place):

1. How easy is it to mod to use a decent entry-mid range set of headphones?
2. Any thoughts on how it'll perform with those Focal's?