It works, but maybe someone can help with a couple of noises

tfrei · 2049

Offline tfrei

This is my first build of a bottlehead kit.  Resistance and voltages checked out.  Hooked it up and it works. Yay!

But there are two noise problems I'm noticing.

1) Regular soft pop or click heard at regular invervals: kind of like the seconds clicking on a watch.  I really don't know much about anything, but the regularity makes me think it related to the AC equipment that it is hooked up to on the same circuit, basically an amp and a turntable.  These are all powered by long extension cords.  [ I know, I need a better AC power hook up .]

2) Bell like sounds whenever I touch a cable or adjust the volume.  The troubleshooting tips on the manual suggest this microphonic phenomenon could be due to a bad tube.  But the tubes are brand new from the kit.  They packaging suggests they were made in 1959, but my general assumption is that they are good tubes.

Any advice or suggestions?  Thanks for your help.

Offline ffivaz

Reply #1 on: March 02, 2014, 07:58:08 AM
Microphonics is normal, especially with the quickie. Just don't tap the top plate. Btw, there are a couple of posts in this forum related to damping the tubes and plate to diminish microphonics.

For the tickling sound. I would say RFI, radio interference, for instance from your cell phone receiving a message or your wifi network. Try moving the quickie around, away from any source of radio signal.

Hope it helps.
Fabien

Fabien Fivaz

Thorens TD 160, Denon DL-110, Hagerman Piccolo 2, Reduction (w/ Integration), 2A3 Stereomour, Fostex FE126En in Bk12m enclosures
Halide DAC HD, Crack (w/ Speedball), Sennheiser HD 650

Offline johnsonad

Reply #2 on: March 02, 2014, 09:25:50 AM
Both sound normal enough.  Does the tick go away once everything is warmed up?

Aaron Johnson

Offline Zimmer64

• Blog
Reply #3 on: March 02, 2014, 10:14:46 AM