Grounding areas on chassis plate

rickdagless · 2642

Offline rickdagless

on: October 02, 2014, 03:20:06 PM
Hey hey,

I got my mainline chassis plate powder coated -- the guy who helped me out ended up doing both sides (bless him, I think he did it out of generosity), so I've got some scraping to do.  I know this was already mentioned in a thread before ( http://bottlehead.com/smf/index.php?topic=5831.0 ), but I just wanted to be super sure about the details as this is my first build.

Am I to scrape off powder coating at ever soldering tab?  I see, according to the manual, one near the IEC inlet, which I'm certain I'll need to do, but there seem to be others, too (I'm eyeballing 8 others)?  And also, there are the holes where the aluminum standoffs support the 3-lug terminal strip (need each standoff touch bare metal?).  Maybe I ought to go through and do all of the holes, just to be sure.

And finally, how should I go about the removal?  I have some sand paper here, but that seems like it might be a bit difficult to use by hand. <Added>Is there anything simple like a screwdriver I could use, or ought I to just go out and get a dremel?</Added>  What should it look like when I'm done?

Many thanks!
« Last Edit: October 02, 2014, 03:24:23 PM by rickdagless »

Vahe Vartan

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: October 02, 2014, 06:45:41 PM
The middle 3-lug t-strip on the attenuator is the signal ground connection to the chassis.  I would scrape the powder around all 3 holes where the standoffs mount to the plate there.  To get the powder off, use a tiny knife and just scrape it off.

Any solder tab connected against the chassis should have the powder scraped off under it.  There is one by the IEC inlet, a couple around the tube sockets, and one up on the headphone jacks for shields.

-PB

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline rickdagless

Reply #2 on: October 02, 2014, 08:26:46 PM