DAC to Crack cable question

PharmaCyclist · 1827

Offline PharmaCyclist

on: December 01, 2014, 01:09:29 PM
I'm a bit new to the enthusiast world of hi-fi audio, and have longed after Sennheiser HD-600 series phones and a nice amp for years and years-- I decided to pull the trigger this holiday season.  I ordered the Crack kit today and the 650's are on their way.  I have a pretty high quality DAC on my computer mobo, but it only outputs as a single 1/8 headphone connector.  Is the norm to just buy an RCA set that splits the two channels from the single connector?  This may be a stupid question and I think that is the correct answer, but I'm wanting to have all the proper equipment at hand when the time comes--I've got LOTS of lossless audio to enjoy!  Any recommendations on a specific cable or does it matter much at all?  Thanks in advance and cheers!

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: December 01, 2014, 01:13:15 PM
Yes, you want a cable with a 1/8" phone plug male on one end and two male RCA plugs.

Offline mcandmar

• Not all engineers are civil
Reply #2 on: December 01, 2014, 01:16:02 PM
Or if you already have an RCA cable you could use a 1/8" to RCA adapter like this -> http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5mm-1-8-Stereo-Male-Mini-Plug-to-2-Female-RCA-Jack-Adapter-Audio-Y-Cable-/400720055445?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5d4cc6cc95  A proper cable with the right connections on each end would be preferable though.

M.McCandless

Offline PharmaCyclist

Reply #3 on: December 01, 2014, 01:22:28 PM
Excellent-- thanks for the super fast responses.  I will go ahead and buy the proper cable-- after dropping hundreds, it seems pointless to cut corners on a lousy cable.  Thanks again-- I'll post/ask questions as I get working on all of this.

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #4 on: December 01, 2014, 01:37:05 PM
Blue Jeans Cable MSA-1 might be a good choice.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline PharmaCyclist