How difficult is the Smash Up to install?

Tlarwa · 1729

Offline Tlarwa

on: January 31, 2015, 05:25:23 PM
I bought my Smash pre-assembled.  I'd like to add the Smash Up after reading all the positive comments, but want to hear how difficult it is to install, especially since I didn't build the Smash.  I have never built a kit before.  About the closest I've come is to rebuild speaker crossovers and re-cap a couple vintage tube amps.  Anyone care to build up my confidence?

Tom

Offline galyons

• Geary Lyons
Reply #1 on: January 31, 2015, 06:21:21 PM
You may find building and installing the Smashup a bit more challenging, but definitely not daunting.  Building the Smashup is pretty straight forward....You must be careful to get the boards populated with the correct component in the right spot!! The instructions are very clear on this.  Don't start if you are fatigued or stressed. Take breaks. Do not be in a hurry.

Print the bill of materials sheet. Inventory the parts to make sure you have all of the parts. Check off each part as verified.  I tape, just enough to hold them in place, everything to a piece of letter size white paper.  Some of the parts are really tiny.  (especially the LED's)  A sneeze and you are bummed and delayed!

Using your DMM, measure the resistors, tape one end of each pair's leads to a piece of white letter size paper.  Write spec value next to each pair in easy to read print.

Visually match up and differentiate the transistors and the regulators.  Lightly tape the leads of each pair to the paper and write what it is next to it in easy to read print.