First kit ......smoke signals!

mstenkilde · 1668

Offline mstenkilde

on: April 08, 2016, 02:54:15 PM
Hello Everyone,

Well - I got the Reduction phono pre-amp a long time ago - and finally got around to assemble it - unless it has a built in smoke signal error signal mechanism ..i messed up bad.

I think I got ahead of myself and assembled a little too quickly (especially considering I am new to everything..soldering, electronics etc) and I made 2 (at least) fatal errors

1) I did NOT conduct the resistance check prior to powering on (I did not have a meter and was too impatient to get one ....)
2) I did NOT put the tubes in before powering up.

Please note that I am not proud of this - but I am including the information in case it can help trouble shooting.

Upon power-up - a thin pillar of smoke appeared and I immediately pulled the power cable.

I am hoping someone on these forums can help me with tips on further trouble shooting and help me find out which parts I need to replace (I assume smoke means something is toast)

I did the resistance check now - and most of the values are where they need to be, here are a few notable exceptions:

11 (should be 0) - 1.2
33 (should be close to 0) - 3
38 (should be close to 0) - 3
42 (*) - 2.7
50 (*) - O.L
51 (*) - O.L
56 (*) - O.L
57 (*) - O.L
60 (*) - O.L

Where do I go from here? What are good next steps to isolate/fix the problem?

Thank you VERY much for any help you can provide :)

Martin

Offline Rocketman248

Reply #1 on: April 08, 2016, 05:37:05 PM
First thing to do would be to go back through the manual step by step, and verify everything was installed properly.  Take your time on this.  I know all too well of the temptation to rush through steps because you're excited to use it. Take your time, and double check everything.

I would especially focus on the orientation of the capacitors and diodes in the power supply.  Mixing one of those up could have some nasty outcomes.