Crack build impressions

gwompki · 1542

Offline gwompki

on: December 14, 2017, 03:35:07 PM
So I built my Crack about 3 weeks ago and have been enjoying it immensely.  Thought I would share some build and listening impressions.

First of all the instructions were fantastic.  I've built a lot of audio related kits over the years and these were some of the best instructions I've ever come across.  I'd say it took me about 6 hours with a couple of breaks in between to wire everything up.  Add on about 30-45 minutes of troubleshooting nasty hum that turned out to be a cold solder joint  on the ground for the headphone out. 

Now, on to the wood work.  I was dreading this part. I have zero experience working with wood and thought I would most definitely screw something up.  The cabinet assembly was very straight forward and took about 15 minutes.  The finishing on the other hand took a solid week to get it to where I was happy with it.  Once the cabinet was assembled I borrowed a random orbital sander and sanded with a 220 grit pad.  After a lot of reading, I decided to go with an ebony Minwax stain due to its availability.  I also got the Minwax pre-stain treatment and Minwax poly for the clear coat.  I found the pre-stain to be very effective on some old pieces of 2x4 I had laying around from when my house was built, so I would highly recommend that for any n00bs like myself.  I applied the ebony stain very lightly, and wiped it off quickly.  Surprisingly it came out half way decent IMHO.  Much more dark brown than ebony which is what I was hoping for.  After waiting 24 hours I began applying the poly.   I did 3 or 4 coats of poly waiting 24 hours between each coat.  After the first coat I did a light sanding with 300 grit sand paper, but I did not do that after the 2nd or 3rd coats.  All in all I am pretty happy with its appearance.  Oh yeah I hit the bell cover with 2 coats of gloss black Krylon and it looks pretty good I must say.