Stereomour or Paramount with Foreplay

jtice · 4394

Offline jtice

on: January 18, 2012, 03:59:12 PM
Greetings everyone,
I've been having an increasingly persistent itch to build a 2A3 SET for awhile now, and I'd enjoy a winter project. I'm trying to decide between Stereomour and Paramount. I currently listen with a Scott 299b driving La Scalas with ALK Type A networks, and a SVS Sub. Rega Planet CD for the source. I've had this setup for several years and it sounds pretty good as is, especially considering that my total investment less than Paramount plus Foreplay III kits. I listen to jazz, blues, folk and classical but typically chamber or solo instrumentation, so probably don't need more than 3.5 watts. I have some soldering experience but have never built audio gear beyond rebuilding the tweets on my horns.

So the questions:
1) Do Paramounts necessarily need a preamp, or is it feasible to run a signal directly, perhaps add a gain control? I would probably do the preamp eventually but wondering if it's a requisite to even consider the Paramount kit? Is there some cheap, easy way to postpone building the preamp?