What equipment do I need?

oguinn · 1731

Offline oguinn

on: May 25, 2018, 01:39:29 PM
I'm new here, so I apologize if this is the wrong board, or if this has been answered before. I'm also pretty new to audio equipment, so this might be really basic.

I'm looking to start building some equipment, but I'm not sure what I should be looking for. My current setup is a U-Turn Orbit turntable, a U-Turn Pluto preamp, a Sony STRDH130 stereo receiver, a pair of Overnight Sensations speakers from Parts Express that I built myself, and a set of Sennheiser 6XX headphones.

I was looking into building the Crack headphone amp, and eventually adding the Speedball, which is pretty straightforward. My questions, though, are when I add an amp like the Reduction or Eros:
  • Would I still need my Sony receiver?
  • Would I still need the Pluto preamp?
  • Are there other pieces of kit that I'd need to consider?

Also, I assume the Crack would connect directly to the turntable and then to the headphones, correct? Or would I need a preamp before going to the headphone amp?

Thanks!

Jameson O'Guinn

-

Main System: Schiit Bifrost MB, Rega Planar 6 with Exact cartridge, Eros 2, BeePre, Kaiju/Stereomour II, Jagers, Mainline

Desktop System: Crack with Speedball

Offline Chris65

Reply #1 on: May 25, 2018, 02:29:03 PM
We all have to start somewhere ;D. Some of the confusion arises because of the terminology..
A basic hifi audio system is: Source - Preamp - Power Amplifier - Speakers

A Receiver like your Sony incorporates a source (radio tuner), preamp and power amplifier. Other sources can added via the inputs.
The source must be a line level source, such as CD/DVD etc for these inputs.

A turntable system, that is the cartridge, only outputs a very small signal & this has to be 'pre-amplified' to reach line level for input into a line level preamp. This is what your Pluto does & what the Reduction/Eros do as well.