What headphones do you use?

ToneDeaf · 6107

Offline ToneDeaf

on: August 15, 2018, 10:50:24 AM
    I'm new to headphones. I was waiting for the Senn. HD820 to come out. Then I was going to get them and a mainline. But the Mainline came up on sale so I bought it, and then got a pair of Senn. HD280's untill the HD820 came out. Now, I am believe it or not, very impressed with the sound of the HD280's .
    There are, as expected, many contrary reviews coming out about the HD820's.
    I can't find any place that sells high end headphones anywhere in my area. I mean anywhere. So before I jump into anything sight unheard, I'd like some opinions on different headphones with the mainline. My first choice would be the Senn HD820, but there is the Audeze LCD-XC, the Mr. Speaker Ether Flow C, and the Fostex TH900 II. I hope I got them all correct. I know the mainline works great with the Senn. HD800, but I need a closed back.
     So lets have some opinions. On any phones, not just the ones mentioned. Thank you all very much.

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: August 15, 2018, 03:25:31 PM
What part of the world do you call home?  There may be a headphone meetup that you can attend to get a more general sense of what you like.  Headphone preferences do depend a little bit on what you listen to the most, but I don't think you can go wrong with the HD-820 or a used set of HD-800S.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Mordicai

Reply #2 on: August 15, 2018, 04:07:42 PM
I use Ether Flow  C's. An upgrade from my Senn 600. I'm very happy with this pairing of the Mainline, but headphones are all so different, that for this kind of money you really should try to attend a headphone meet or show.

Offline ToneDeaf

Reply #3 on: August 15, 2018, 06:10:11 PM