Finished building - Passed resistance test, failed voltage. LEDs do not light up

Drew495 · 1318

Offline Drew495

Hello!

As the title suggests, my recently built crack passed the resistance test but failed the voltage test. Additionally, the LEDs do not light up. When I tried plugging in my HD650s, I noticed a very loud buzzing with and without the RCA cables plugged in. When I tried to listen to music with them, I could actually hear it, but it was very distorted with a loud buzzing masking it. Obviously I did something wrong (this is my first time doing something like this) so any help would be greatly appreciated. If you need any extra information or pictures I'd be happy to oblige. I can't wait to hear how this amp sounds when it works! Here are the results for my resistance and voltage tests--keep in mind my multimeter is on the cheaper side:

Resistance:
1 - infinity
2 - infinity
3 - zero
4 - infinity
5 - infinity
6 - zero
7 - 3.03k
8 - 0
9 - 2.96k
10 - 0
12 - 0
13 - infinity
14 - 0
20 - 0
22 - 0
B3 - 3.03k
B6 - 2.96k
Center pin (red) - 89.8k
Center pin (black) - 97.9k
Ground tab - zero for both

Voltage (I measured this with my multimeter at 600 DC volts and 2000m DC volts, it will be displayed in that order):
1 - 0 and 106
2 - 0 and 115
3 - 0 and between 0 and 3
4 - 0 and 372
5 - 0 and 372
6 - 0 and 0
7 - 67 and infinity
8 - 0 and 0
9 - 70 and infinity
10 - 0 and 0

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
As the title suggests, my recently built crack passed the resistance test but failed the voltage test. When I tried plugging in my HD650s,
The voltage checks told you your amp didn't work.  There is a very high chance that you can destroy your headphones by trying to listen to a broken amp, and the information you gathered by doing this is not helpful and not something we would ever ask for (or use).
Voltage (I measured this with my multimeter at 600 DC volts and 2000m DC volts, it will be displayed in that order):
1 - 106
2 - 115
3 - 0
4 - 372
5 - 372