Stereomour II Serenity

Cascadian · 1154

Offline Cascadian

on: May 15, 2020, 09:23:52 AM
Hey folks,

I really need to start off my first post here by giving kudos to my past self for having the foresight to stash such a majestic beast of a project in a box in my closet just in case a pandemic hit. Seriously, what luck! I must also give a shout out to Eileen for packing both the Stereomour II and Crack kits plus addons to perfection! This is not as easy as it looks.

I finished this build about a month ago. With all the time in the world, it was a very zen-like experience, kind of like what I imagine trimming a bonsai might be like. I had originally planned on waiting to build this until I moved into a larger place and bought or made some high efficiency speakers, perhaps some cornscalas might be nice! With the advent of the pandemic I thought, why not now?

Having already built the crack with speedball I was familiar with how it would go. I’m a technologist by profession and have amassed some aptitude at this stuff and understand that it is often the details in electronics that count, not only in the build, but also the great design by Paul and the gang. Real good stuff. I built the stock kit, measured it, hooked it up to my late-run dynaco a25s wth updated seas tweeters (I’d estimate these speakers come in at 91dB sensitivity) and not expecting much, was blown away! Of course, I had to adjust the hum pots at first but wow, I couldn’t believe the lushness of this amp with the pair of less than ideal transducers! I've had experience with amplifiers being matched up to less than ideal loads before and understand when they sound starved, but shockingly none of that was present here!