Questions about input signal.

jivex5k · 357

Offline jivex5k

on: August 20, 2020, 06:32:23 AM
Forgive me if this is a very basic question, I'm still learning about amps.

I have an RME babyface FS pro as a DAC, my plan is to use the 1/4" TRS stereo output with a Y Cable that converts it to 2 mono male RCAs.
The headphones get pretty loud already if plugged in directly, is it possible to send too much volume and damage the Crack?
The outputs are a line out signal, and I believe as long as I don't send an amped signal it should be fine.

Also, what should I set the volume to on the DAC output?
I'm guessing just start it low and fiddle with both that volume and the crack's volume until I find a good level. I'm probably worrying about this too much...

If interested, here's the specs on the 1/4" output:
    Output: 6.3 mm TRS jack, unbalanced
    Output impedance: 10 Ohm
    Output level at 0 dBFS, 1 kOhm load: +13 dBu
    Max power @ 0.1% THD: 60 mW
    Signal to Noise ratio (SNR): 114.8 dB RMS unweighted, 118 dBA
    Noise level: -101.8 dBu

The interface also has a 1/8" TRS stereo output, and 2 mono XLRs outputs.
I figured there's no point messing with XLR since the headphones I have are unbalanced. (DT1770s)

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: August 20, 2020, 07:27:49 AM
The headphones get pretty loud already if plugged in directly, is it possible to send too much volume and damage the Crack?
There is a signal level that's too much signal for the Crack, but it's the kind of level that you would get out of a big power amp, not another headphone amp.

Also, what should I set the volume to on the DAC output?
I'm guessing just start it low and fiddle with both that volume and the crack's volume until I find a good level. I'm probably worrying about this too much...