[Solved]Bottlehead Crack Left Channel Crackling/Popping and Humming

Coma · 807

Offline Coma

Hello Bottlehead people,

im new in the bottlehead crack gang. I found a prebuilt Crack on ebay where i live and bought it since i wanted the crack in the future. I got it and it works, sound comes out of it but i have a few problems with it.
The first thing is pretty bad crackling, popping in the left Channel. Its there basicially all the time  a few seconds after pushing the power button. I had it running for a few hours, with no change, it still crackles after hours. I have 7 6080/6asg7 tubes and 3 12AU7 tubes to test. Its always the same. The RCA6ASG7 Black Plates which i had in my Darkvoice( The darkvoice is dead silent with the RCA and a Sylvania 6SN7GTA) changes nothing.
Ive read a bit in here a mod with diodes on the ground pin of the power connector and applied it with two diodes that i had. Dont know if they fit for that, but they havent solved the problem.
Some solderjoints looked pretty bad and one of the caps hat broken joint. I resoldered some of them and reheated most other besides the tubes sockets. Im not a solder pro, but what i have done looks definetly better than before. Some are still a bit ugly i guess ( probably all).  Unfortunatly i burned the isolation of a cable on the power connector a bit, which is seen in the picture (black wire). This hasnt changed anything from my initial problem.
I noticed that the pins in the socket of the 6080 tube are somewhat loose ( maybe 3 or 4 of them), means i can push them slightly down in the socket, but they wont stick in there. Ive tried to tighten all the loose pins while running it, but nothing changed.
Tilting the tubes doesnt do anything.
I switched the resistors on the headphone jack from left to right but the crackling remained in the left channel only.