News:
December 07, 2021, 01:00:24 PM

Author Topic: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?  (Read 935 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline znerken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« on: November 24, 2020, 04:11:06 AM »
I am looking for a second pair to have with my Mainline. I currently use HD800s and it sound like heaven, but would be nice to have a second pair to also listen to once in a while. Always liked how LCDs look, but how do they pair with a Mainline?

Offline MisterM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2020, 03:11:00 AM »
I have used an Anaxilus modded HD800 with the Mainline and they are a great sounding match. I blew my stimulus money on a pair of LCD 3's which noticeably outperformed the HD800's with better sealing around the ears, deeper and more solid bass, more detailed mids and highs and they have become my go to cans for Mainline. The LCD's are nicely constructed of metal and wood with very little plastic and are heavier than the all plastic HD800's which may or may not be a problem. They make the HD800's look and feel chintzy which they are definitely not. The HD 800's have since become the main cans of my upgraded Crack and make a wonderful sounding pair. By the way the LCD's low impedance (110 ohm) doesn't sound as good with the Crack.
Frank Horvatich

Offline Phippers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2021, 09:52:45 PM »
Hi - and greetings from Melbourne Australia,

I'm new to Bottlehead and to the forum - I'm looking to get a headphone amp to put in between my Cambridge Audio CXN V2 streamer / DAC  and Audeze LCD3 cans.

I'm considering the Mainline and would be grateful for any feedback / review from any of you who have used it with either the Cambridge or the LCD3.

Is the Mainline / LCD3 pairing a good one?  I see that Frank is a fan!  Any other feedback / experiences / comments from anyone?

I know the LCD3 are pretty power hungry - does the Mainline have sufficient grunt to drive them?

Thanks,

Paul.
Paul Phippin

Offline Larpy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2021, 07:29:30 AM »
I used Audeze LCD2s with a Mainline for a year or so. It's a good combination: enough power to drive the Audezes plus a less "tubey" sound signature (than the Crack or Crackatwoa), which I think complements the Audeze's sonics.  My LCD2s (pre-fazor) already sound kinda tubey on their own.
Larry

Offline Phippers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2021, 11:59:53 PM »
Hi everyone,

Well I went ahead and ordered a Mainline, finished the build today and I'm pleased to report that it plays very nicely with the LCD3. Plenty of ooph (sorry to get all technical on ya)  ;D

It also looks terrific in Midnight Blue Cast powder coat,  8)  courtesy of PB. Thanks Paul.

Paul Phippin

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2021, 06:13:50 AM »
Let's see some pics!
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Phippers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2021, 03:03:00 AM »
My pleasure!
Paul Phippin

Offline Thermioniclife

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2021, 06:13:40 AM »
Looks sweet, love the switched pem and the led. Great idea. Enjoy.
Lee R.

Online Doc B.

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8771
    • Bottlehead
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2021, 09:42:48 AM »
Lovely!
Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Karl5150

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 517
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2021, 05:58:03 AM »
Very nice. BH power cord too?
Karl
Karl
Downstairs: Planar3>Eros>Stereomour II>diy OB Betsy+
Upstairs: DIY RP1>Reduction / CD5004>Seductor/SEX 3.1.1>FH3/DT770 pro/HE-4xx
Office: Schiit Modi Uber 2 / Sirius Tuner>SEX 2.1.1>µFonken FF85WK with diy subs
Garage: CA x12 streamer>Quicksand>Minimus 77

Offline Phippers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2021, 06:55:26 PM »
Thanks Lee, Doc & Karl for the kind words.

No, not a BH power cord, I'm in Australia where we have grown-up electricity ;) (240v) and oddly shaped plugs. No, it's just a bog standard IEC cord.
Paul Phippin

Offline Thermioniclife

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2021, 10:33:36 AM »
Sorry but I had to copycat!
Lee R.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15851
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2021, 10:37:11 AM »
Hopefully there's still a fuse in there somewhere.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Thermioniclife

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2021, 11:10:03 AM »
Fuses, I don't use no stinking fuses!
Just kidding. fuse holder and anti phase diodes.
Lee R.

Offline Phippers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Mainline - Audeze LCD, anyone?
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2021, 01:12:04 AM »
Hey Lee,

"Sorry" ?   mate - they say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery - I'll take it  ;D

Hi Paul,

Yep still have a fuse. I used an inline one.

And the Green/Yellow is just sleeving over the supplied black wire - old habits die hard!  Similarly the IEC boot - comes from having grown up with 240V !


Paul Phippin