New Member - First Build - Observations - Crack + Speedball

audioguy · 1284

Offline audioguy

Hello,

I'm a computer engineer who has been bitten by the audiophile monster.

I have a pair of HD6xx (HD650) and have been using it with a Topping D50s and a Drop THX AAA 789 amplifier. It's been nothing short of fantastic. I asked around for some tube recommendations and some awesome soul on Reddit suggested the Bottlehead Crack. Having a full electronics lab and experience in the field, naturally, I was sold.

I bought the crack back during the Cyber Monday sale and it arrived a month ago. I assembled it last week and I've been blown away by the difference in sound to my Drop THX AAA 789. It's such a colourful, original sound compared to an exacting SS amp! Obviously, some music such as classical and fast jazz is still better enjoyed on the 789, but for blues rock, and 80% of the music I listen to, I've been in love with the sound of the Bottlehead Crack.

A few days later, I assembled and added the Speedball upgrade. My first impression is that it really tightened up the crack and increased the dynamic range of the music. This should be good, right? Well, after a few days of comparing and contrasting against my 789, I found that the differences were very minimal between an exacting SS 789 amp and the upgraded Bottlehead Crack. I bought the Bottlehead crack for the very original "tubey" sound, and therefore, I decided to downgrade the small board of the Speedball back to the 22.1k 1/2W resistors. Once doing this, I got back the original sound of the "imperfect" amplifier, and it was the sound I was looking for. I left the large board on because I wanted full power transfer to headphones.

If I didn't have the 789, the full Speedball upgrade would have blown my socks off. But since I already have a great SS amp, I wanted something different.