Crack resistance check problems (First build) [resolved]

jerfries · 524

Offline jerfries

Hello friends.

Upon completion of the Crack kit I'm having problems with the readings at terminals 1, 2, 4, and 5. They are reading straight 0. Every single other reading, (and all the tests prior to this) have been good. The only other * reading according to the manual is at terminal 13, and that behaves as I would expect, wandering in some 10kOhm range or so.

I tried resoldering some of the more suspicious looking joints before/around/after these terminals, but truthfully nothing looks any more out of place on the circuit surrounding those terminals than any other place. Apart from a few things on guitars, this is my first time soldering, so... brace yourself for the pictures I'm about to post. The first one is obviously of the area directly in question. The second one is an overall view but I'm not sure it will be any help in diagnosing really.

Hopefully this is a problem that is logical to figure out!

Regards,
-Jeremy
« Last Edit: June 22, 2022, 04:58:26 AM by Paul Birkeland »

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: June 21, 2022, 06:54:53 PM
Terminals 2 and 3 wire to terminal 13, so I would double check that terminal 13 is OK.  Also be sure you're not seeing "OL" rather than a zero.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline jerfries

Reply #2 on: June 22, 2022, 02:20:42 AM
Terminals 2 and 3 wire to terminal 13, so I would double check that terminal 13 is OK.  Also be sure you're not seeing "OL" rather than a zero.