RC bias on reduction 1.1

Yahhmuns · 3101

Offline Yahhmuns

on: September 09, 2022, 06:14:51 AM
I’ve seen many people switch the LED bias on the crack to RC bias and I was wondering if anyone had experience doing this to the reduction. I’m fairly new to amp design so I was curious to try it out but don’t know how to go about it.

Thanks!

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: September 09, 2022, 06:22:55 AM
I’ve seen many people switch the LED bias on the crack to RC bias
You have?  I think maybe two or three people have done this over the last sixteen years.

and I was wondering if anyone had experience doing this to the reduction.
The thing about the LEDs is that they have very, very low dynamic impedance.  You'd end up needing a pair of really large caps for each 6922 to go along with the bias resistor, and there just isn't' room for that on the tube sockets.

(The LEDs also sound better)

On the Crack you can get away with just resistors and no capacitors because there's loads of extra gain and the output impedance of the first stage is relatively immaterial to the overall performance of the amp (I would add that this is true with the Speedball and a bit less true without it).  In the Reduction, a mod like this would change the RIAA EQ response in undesirable ways. 

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Yahhmuns

Reply #2 on: September 09, 2022, 06:29:23 AM
A lot of my friends online swear by the RC swap on the crack but if the reductions RIAA response would deviate greatly maybe I won’t do it. But out of curiosity what ratings for the resistor and cap would be needed for the RC swap or how would I go about calculating this myself. Thanks a lot for the help!

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: September 09, 2022, 06:53:37 AM