News:
January 30, 2023, 08:37:49 PM

Author Topic: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)  (Read 3218 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #90 on: October 17, 2022, 02:45:09 PM »
Barely Touched (A) side 2n2907a transistor collector w meter probe, amp turned off.  Meters other probe was not connected to anything so it could have been a bic pen, anything metallic.
 Therefore since the 2n2907a transistors Collector goes to the MJE5731A transistor's emitter, that is also sensitive.
 When the amp cut out I touched the metal probe to 16  Randomly and it came back on. A wooden stick does not do anything.  has to be metallic touching it. Tapped 5731a emitter, amp cut out, Touched 5731 base, came on. Those points seem to be the only point that makes a slight tick in speaker. The 2 transistors on A side. Also the center most csd01060 rectifier will Emmitt ticking thru speaker when metallic probe touches. It will also bring amp back on. Touching the mje350 w probe also cut off amp. Probing 907a base will turn it on.

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #91 on: October 17, 2022, 03:05:27 PM »
The 12at7 wouldn't have anything to do with this issue would it? because half of it operates as an actively loaded hybrid shunt regulator. I dont know, just asking.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #92 on: October 17, 2022, 03:07:46 PM »
You have two amps and each has a 12AT7, so you can simply swap the tubes between amps to check for that.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #93 on: October 17, 2022, 03:13:47 PM »
Doing that now. Just thought I'd ask to see if that's absolutely out of the question. Also the power choke tabs are sensitive too.

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #94 on: October 17, 2022, 03:51:32 PM »
Not the tube. 20 mins on, turned off, used ballpoint pen poked section A and came on. I have no clue. Sad.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #95 on: October 17, 2022, 04:08:05 PM »
Part of the problem with what I'm seeing here is that when you poke at some connections with a meter and you get a noise, that may not mean anything is actually wrong with the amp.  If you poke at one of the high voltage rectifier diode tabs with a meter probe and get noise out of the amp, that's not abnormal.  The same goes for the choke connections. 

We used to sell the soft-start retrofit for the Paramount that would provide a fresh set of parts and the updated driver board, but that has been discontinued. 

One thing you could do is to switch the C4S boards between amps to see if the problem follows a board or sticks around in one amp chassis despite swapping C4S boards.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #96 on: October 18, 2022, 01:55:14 PM »
Swapped the c4s. Issue followed.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2022, 01:38:46 AM by Rob Capizzi »

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #97 on: October 18, 2022, 02:13:13 PM »
Is there any type of replacement?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2022, 01:39:29 AM by Rob Capizzi »

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #98 on: October 19, 2022, 04:36:26 AM »
Two of these would give you the boards and a bunch of the parts you'd need:
https://bottlehead.com/product/stereomour-ii-shunt-regulator-upgrade-kit/

If the bosses give the OK, we can send you the soft-start manual so you can source the rest of the bits.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #99 on: October 27, 2022, 05:36:50 PM »
Hi, ok I've replaced both 2n2907a and 2 LEDs on B side. Playing strong fingers crossed.  New leds are like twice as bright. A more pro solder station, magnify light, and 63/37 solder definitely improved my work.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17914
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #100 on: October 27, 2022, 07:27:15 PM »
The B side LEDs should be a bit brighter since they have a bit more current going through them.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Rob Capizzi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
Re: Foreplay 3 amp no output (Paramount)
« Reply #101 on: October 28, 2022, 05:14:15 AM »
Cool to know. Thanks. I would love to understand more about this circuit. Seems interesting.