Best Soundstage HD650/HD600 or Beyer Dynamic DT880 /600 ohm

castelletti · 19167

Offline castelletti

Looking to get a set of phones for an upcoming Crack build.  Money is an issue and need to keep it around $400.

Unfortunately, I haven't had a chance to listen to the HD650/600, and while I did hear the DT800s it was the 250 ohm version in a noisy guitar center being driven by an iPod shuffle.

I tried  the Grado RS-2's and SR325i's.  Great detail - but found them way too forward for my liking with no real soundstage to speak of, sounded like a straight line through my ears.  I was unimpressed.  As a musician I know what it sounds like on stage and it never sounds as good on stage as it does in the audience (to me anyways). 

All that being said I am looking for a set of phones that deliver a wide and deep soundstage with good detail and imaging.  I listen to mainly 60's jazz and classic country music as well as classic r&b.

I'm open to any and all suggestions.  Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 04:49:19 PM by castelletti »

Offline John Roman

Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 04:05:18 AM
Hey Castelletti,