New Crack build and some ideas for those considering one...

musiciseverything · 6064

Offline musiciseverything

First, let me say thanks to the forum and the excellent instructions that come with the kit.  Much to my amazement the Crack actually worked after I finished building it.  I am not good with building things but I was careful and slow and triple-checked everything.  It sounds wonderful-black quiet background, wonderful bass and midrange and highs that are sweet and delicate without being at all harsh.  All for $200.

Now, I did discover some little things that may help other newbies.  First, take your time and only work for an hour or two at a time.  Plan ahead and read the directions several times and run through your mind where things go.  Next, give your solder iron plenty of time to get hot.  It took mine about 15 minutes because it was cheap.  Also, the small tube in front barely glows so I was freaked out when I couldn't see the glow.  But i turned out the lights and could see it but it is faint.  Get yourself a good digital readout meter.  It has many uses and is worth the money so you can be accurate.  The specs on resistance and voltage readouts are quite variable, as it says in the manual.  If your readings are in the ballpark , don't worry about it.  I melted one of the terminals on the switch even though I was warned in the manual.  It is easy to do even with a 40 Watt solder iron.  I used a magnifer with a ring flourescent lamp and it was invaluable.  I didn't need alligator clips on the meter since the negative probe fit right into #11 tab.  Radio Shack has 2% Silver solder and it was cheap and easy to use.  I also used a "third hand" base with alligator clips and a magnifier-nice but not essential. 

I would encourage anyone with an interest to try this kit.  Believe me, if I can build it, you can build it.  You will be rewarded with an excellent headphone amp- on par with my $700 ASL tubed amp.  Enjoy!

Offline Grainger49