Tape Deck Modifications

mchurch · 8669

Offline mchurch

on: July 16, 2011, 05:21:53 AM
I am a newbie to this area but I wanted to know if there is any guidance information available from the members as to how modify the tape deck to use the EROS. I am assuming that I will have to re-wire the heads to go direct to the input of the EROS. It appears that the only mods will be to playback so can I still use the record functions. Any information would be appreciated. My equipment is currently a Revox B77 and a Teac X1000R .

Thanks

Mike

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: July 16, 2011, 10:27:22 AM
The Eros is derived from the Tube Repro high-end design, and has similar input capabilities. You can see more at

http://www.bottlehead.com/store.php?crn=223&rn=437&action=show_detail

From that page:

"The Tube Repro is designed as a versatile tape head preamp that works well with medium to high inductance playback heads. It has been developed from the start as the perfect match to Flux Magnetics Extended Response playback heads. ... Most any modern tape recorder, once modified to direct output from the playback heads, will work with the Repro."

Tape heads, like phono cartridges, come in a variety of impedance and voltage levels; any tube amp will be designed for medium to high output heads. Head sensitivity is rated by impedance, and 200 to 700mH is a typical range for tube preamps. It's best to be sure your tape heads are compatible before re-wiring you tape deck (!)

Paul Joppa

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 05:00:59 AM
A B77 will work fine. Not 100% sure about the TEAC, but there are very few tape decks that use low impedance heads, so it's probably a safe bet that it will work fine.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline mchurch

Reply #3 on: July 17, 2011, 06:11:13 AM
Thanks Paul & Doc;