Thinking Of Doing Some Mods

Moko · 2399

Offline Moko

on: September 23, 2011, 06:42:46 AM
Well I've had my Quickie for a year now and its been perfect in every way, but maybe now it might deserve a little bit of extra love.

I was thinking of putting in an Alps RK27 pot, but what value do I need and is there a way when I change this to make the volume control a little less sensitive? With the current pot I never really get past the 8 O Clock setting so by the time its at 10 O clock its far too loud so what can I do to alter this. Unfortunately I have no idea of my power amps sensitivity as it as DIY job that I bought and apart from knowing its an EL34 PP no one so far has recognised the circuit.

Also any recommendations of Output caps to improve the sound / sound stage would be most welcome.

If you could please keep the terms simple that would be a big help as I am no electrical expert (even after building the Quickie)

Thanks in advance.

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: September 23, 2011, 10:07:45 AM
For the hair-trigger volume control, the best solution is to install an attenuator at the input of the power amp. Usually the main reason not to do that is fear of voiding the warranty; since your power amp is a DIY there should be no problem. You can also install an L-pad at the Quickie input, if your source output is too high. There is an optimal balance somewhere in there. My paper (on the Community page) goes into a lot of details but might be helpful.

Paul Joppa

Offline matthewmckay

Reply #2 on: September 23, 2011, 11:27:48 AM
I replaced bypass caps with elna silmics, and I am very pleased with the results.  The bottom end has tightened up, and I find that the overall presentation appears to have more "authority".  They take a while to burn in, sounding pretty good at first, then doing some really wierd "underwater sounding" type crap for 20 hours or so.  Mine have about 65 hours on them and I am completely enamored with my quickie now.