Voltage issue from C4S board... 1st build, 1st post

adastra · 3685

Offline adastra

on: December 21, 2011, 06:14:53 AM
Hello all,
Go easy, Im a newbie at this, but I've followed the forum with interest for a while.  So I'm finishing up my Seduction build, with C4S, otherwise stock, and I've run into one issue.  Resistance checks all came out good.  Upon firing it up for the voltage checks, the first thing I noticed is that the bias LED on A3-A9 has failed to light up.  Continuing with voltage checks, everything looks good until Terminals 30 & 40.

30 is correct at 70V, while 40 shows low microvoltage that begins ramping up into the hundreds of millivolts while metered

then...

B1 is correct at 70V, while A1 shows no voltage

then...

B3 is correct at 1.6V, while A3 shows .65V which is less than 1/2 of spec.  

I'll be rechecking solder connections of course, but any insight you guys might have would be much appreciated.  Again, I'm an experienced hand at soldering and electronics builds, but I'm no engineer and I'm new to tubes.  Need some help here, my LP12 anxiously awaits!
Thanks.

Edit: also, working backwards from A1, I determined that there is no voltage at T32 or before that at the center pin of the C4S transistor that connects to T32. I metered the MJE transistors and the other 3 all show 130V on the outer pins, and 70V on the center pin.  The problem one (connected to T32) shows 130V on one outside leg, 120V on the other, and nothing on the center pin.  Bad transistor?
« Last Edit: December 21, 2011, 06:23:42 AM by adastra »

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 06:40:06 AM
Check to make sure that the 2n2907 metal can is not touching a PC board trace.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline adastra

Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 07:02:51 AM
Thanks Doc, working on it.  I did fix the issue with T40, so that's one less thing... 

Offline adastra