resistance measurements

jwagner6 · 1575

Offline jwagner6

on: March 15, 2012, 04:54:18 PM
I am a complete beginner and am having trouble determining the resistance values on the resistors (I don't know if I am saying this right).  For the attenuators I was able to determine the values by following the color coding.  However, I am now on the step where I need to attach the RO1 to RO2 with of a 1K 1/4 W resistor and it is not clear, from the picture, what colors are on the resistor.  I have a pocket multi meter but I cannot get it to register on any setting.  What setting should I put it on?  It does not seem to be sensitive enough to determine the resistance values.  I am not sure.  Has anyone had a similar experience and/or does anyone have any suggestions.  I would like to learn to use the multimeter.  It seems like a more reliable way to go.  Thanks.

Offline vetmed

Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 05:17:01 PM
Try using a pair of clip leads to take your resistance measurements. Using your fingers to hold the resistor's leads against the meter's probes is going to give you poor results. Hope this is helpful, good luck!

Robert Lees

Robert Lees

Offline Grainger49

Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 11:49:47 PM
You don't say whether your meter has 4 or 5 resistance ranges or auto-ranges.  If it has different ranges choose the lowest range that includes the target resistance.  If the resistance is unknown then start in the highest range and go down till it shows "OL" which is overload.  That is below the resistance you are measuring.  Go back up one range and you will get the most accurate measurement.

Offline Laudanum

Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 01:12:14 AM