Crack with some issues!

pavlov · 4462

Offline pavlov

on: July 31, 2012, 03:04:17 AM
Hey guys,
Just finished building my first tube amp.
It plays fine but I have some troubles with a buzz in the right channel.
The buzz isn't really noticeable at low volume but it gets louder when turning the volume knob. However it disappears the moment the potentiometer is on its loudest setting. I'm new to tube and am not able to resolve the problem myself,nor could I find an answer on the forum. Is it a problem with the potentiometer? Is it a grounding problem? I've checked my joints and they seem fine.

Thanks you for helping me!
Roger

Some pictures: (it was my first attempt and I'm afraid I haven't done such a clean job)
(https://forum.bottlehead.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg37.imageshack.us%2Fimg37%2F1645%2Fdsc1912x.jpg&hash=20c9a6510788633fde3e0cf9bcb2789ae8fbc8b7)
(https://forum.bottlehead.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg18.imageshack.us%2Fimg18%2F9421%2Fnaamloos2zm.jpg&hash=4fcb4498c7caecdbcb0d2ee28040bc1c2fcbe479)
(https://forum.bottlehead.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg696.imageshack.us%2Fimg696%2F1856%2Fdsc1924o.jpg&hash=91facc4f046c7981adbd5a5108bdd315a6e599c1)
(https://forum.bottlehead.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimg32.imageshack.us%2Fimg32%2F8514%2Fdsc1935h.jpg&hash=f00048dfc2792bdb0d886480103bbd843a145cea)

Roger M.

Offline Jim R.

• Blind Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 03:38:39 AM
Roger,

Are the RCA inputs installed correctly and does the ground wire go to both grounds on the RCAs?

Also reflow the solder joints on the RCAS and the volume control.  Sounds like a grounding issue in one channel on the input, so check all the ground connections from the RCAs to the pot.

HTH,

Jim

Jim Rebman -- recovering audiophile

Equitech balanced power; uRendu, USB processor -> Musette DAC -> 5670 tube buffer -> Finale Audio F138 FFX -> Cain and Cain Abbys near-field).

s.e.x. 2.1 under construction.  Want list: Stereomour II