An absolute noob's modding question

Nick Tam · 6868

Offline Nick Tam

• "Crack on Crack"
on: September 05, 2012, 05:17:04 AM
I know this might sound stupid but I just had the idea that if my amp could only be as good as my components, what could I do to rid of the bottlenecks in the system? I'm not an electrical engineer whatsoever just a curious DIYer but... here are just some of the mods that I was thinking of and wondering what sort of improvements should I expect because I have no idea, and there hasn't really been a thread where someone just lists out the sort of mods they were planning on.

-Is it possible but why spend $100 on Rhodium plated RCA jacks instead of wiring the signal from the pot straight to a pair of RCA plugs?
-Solid silver chassis wiring for the signal path, higher the conductivity means improvement to some extent? (Knowing the loss or recession of bass frequencies)
-Stepped attenuator (Do I even need this over a Alps Blue velvet pot?)
-Kiwame or AN resistors on speedball board and PSU resistors (I don't know. It's an aftermarket resistor and it's green and looks fun to throw in...)
-Film/oil capacitors and coupling capacitors (big big caps the better? bypass caps, what?)

I don't mean to sound stupid to you electrical engineers out there... just wondering how to get the most out of my Crack after the tube rolling fun is over
« Last Edit: September 05, 2012, 06:01:25 AM by Nubtam94 »

Bottlehead Crack

Source: Fostex HP-A4
Cans: Sennheiser HD700
Sylvania GB6080 + Sylvania VT-231

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: September 05, 2012, 05:39:14 AM
This is certainly a question that develops in many people's minds, no need to be apologetic. 

I don't know why somebody would spend $100 on rodium jacks and not touch anything else.  Granted, the nicer jacks will make a difference, but that would be a strange choice on its own.