Offline garrardfisher

on: October 02, 2012, 02:00:50 PM
Has anyone has ever noticed this particular sound?  The
seduction started out quiet for a month or two after the build,
but now has an itermittent noise that can be temporarily cured by
tapping on the top plate, so I suspect it's a joint.  The sound is
much like that of a stylus crossing onto the inner record label, but
softer and staccato and sometimes it has a pattern as in it fades away
by going from pop pop pop to pop....pop...........pop.........   ::)

It's only in one channel and I've eliminated tubes and interconnects. 
It is definitely the left channel circuit.  I have also reflowed
the solder twice on every joint on the left channel.  I have not reflowed the
solder elsewhere, and I haven't reflowed the common ground plate. 

Is it possible that a component could have been overheated from the solder iron, or is it
definitely a broken joint that I'm just missing?  I'm new to tube gear, so I am not familiar with
all the odd sounds they can make.

Any suggestions appreciated!

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: October 02, 2012, 02:28:16 PM
Could be either a tube or, somewhat less likely, a cap. Did any of the caps get nicked by the soldering iron?

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Grainger49

Reply #2 on: October 02, 2012, 02:54:29 PM
The easiest thing to do is clean the tube pins and the socket.  Read Question #2 in the FAQ Thread.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 03:22:15 AM by Grainger49 »

Offline earwaxxer

Reply #3 on: October 02, 2012, 04:38:23 PM
Sounds very much like a tube sound to me. A worn out carbon pot sometimes sounds like that when the volume is turned up or down.

Eric
Emotiva XPA-2, Magnepan MMG (mod), Quickie (mod), JRiver, Wyrd4sound uLink, Schiit Gungnir, JPS Digital power cord, MIT power cord, JPS Labs ultraconductor wire throughout, HSU sub. powered by Crown.

Offline garrardfisher