foreplay transformer / kit construction help please

johnl · 13001

Offline johnl

on: January 02, 2010, 10:13:07 AM
Hello,
I am a newbie to electronics and tube amp kits. Recently purchasing the FPIII from Bottlehead, I am having trouble and any help would be greatly appreciated.

After putting the kit together, testing resistence and starting to test the voltage, I think I have a transformer problem?

The resistence checks of the transformer never really tested properly, especially for terminals 6,7,8,9.

I tried the voltage checks anyway. The tubes did light up. But the voltage checks for the tranformer and other points did not test properly.
Then the tubes didn't fire up, the transformer started smoking, and I have a blown fuse. Although I resoldered the transformer terminals several times, I found these difficult (the solder flowing off the joint). I cannot seem the get 6,7,8,9 transformer terminals to test to infinity.

What should I do? I do I check the health of the transformer?

thanks very kindly for any suggestions and assistance,
JohnL

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 11:07:28 AM
John,

Post the resistances you got with what was expected.  That will give us an idea of what is happening.

Edited: removed the suggestion that it be turned on again till the wiring issues are sorted out.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2010, 06:09:39 AM by Grainger49 »

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 11:56:19 AM
Just post the resistances first. As you have seen, it can be risky to apply voltage when the resistances indicate the circuit is not connected properly. And, lest you feel alone, understand that we have ALL learned this the same way you did!