stereomour newbie

rockdrummer · 8522

Offline rockdrummer

on: November 29, 2012, 06:58:01 AM
 ;D

Okay, so i am a total newbie but a diy-coholic. I built a pair of gr research monitors for my parents. I am onto a sub and monitors for my brother and talked my wife into a stereomour earlier than i thought i would!!! It is presently on order. However, i dont have the right speakers for them yet. Going to build a pair of gr research super v speakers. Anyway....
I am also, like other newbie posters, nervous but excited to get started. I have minimal soldering skills and am working to practice that too. I have a weller 100 watt soldering gun with who knows what kind of tips. Will order solder and possibly some other things to assist as i plan. Anyway, i have already felt welcome and know whatever help i need will be abundant with this great online community. Thanks and more to come.
Ben Young

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 07:03:17 AM
Hi Ben and welcome. My advice is to save the solder gun for big stuff like speaker terminals and get a real solder station for amp kit building. It does not have to be a really expensive one and it could make the difference between a frustrating build and a very pleasant one. You might have a look at the tech tools section of this forum for recommendations.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline rockdrummer

Reply #2 on: November 29, 2012, 09:54:23 AM
Doc, that was just what Grainger mentioned. I will plan on that as my next purchase. I was very sad ehen i was done soldering the speakers i built and i think the same will go with this build. I will go very slow and enjoy every minute of it. With the right tools that is!
Ben

Offline earwaxxer

Reply #3 on: November 29, 2012, 12:05:43 PM
Hi Ben,