Potential Schematic Difference

rlyach · 3354

Offline rlyach

on: March 13, 2013, 12:42:06 PM
I don't want to call this a potential error but I have noticed that the schematic of the break circuit does not seem to match the wiring instructions. Looking at the schematic, the output transformer should see a variable load from 2.667 ohms to 8 ohms. If I use the wiring diagram, the output transformer should see a variable load from 2.0 ohms to 4.0 ohms. I assume that the wiring instructions are correct and that the schematic was just not updated. Forgive me if I read the schematic wrong.

Randy Yach

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 12:50:45 PM
Yeah the schematic looks wrong. The instructions should be correct, and it should be that the OT sees a constant 4 ohms.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline rlyach

Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 01:30:48 PM
Forgive my ignorance. I have never used an L-pad before. I think the schematic is correct, but it only shows one L-pad and notes that there are two 8 ohm L-pads in parallel, which makes a 4 ohm L-pad. The schematic is just showing the inner workings of a single L-pad and stating that there are two of them. Thanks for the patience.

For anyone who is interested, here is a good description of how an L-pad works.
http://www.bcae1.com/lpad.htm

I was confused because I was assuming it was a simple pot (sorry).
« Last Edit: March 13, 2013, 01:42:13 PM by rlyach »

Randy Yach

Offline rlyach

Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 01:52:56 PM
By the way... I love the break circuit. The other guitar amps I have built used a shunting pot between the push and pull grid controls, but controlling the volume this way affects the tone / crunch and not simply the volume. The break circuit allows you to lower the volume without changing the characteristics of the sound. Very nice....

Randy Yach

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead