Only one channel through both outputs, whu happened?

Misty Vapors · 8554

Offline Misty Vapors

on: February 08, 2010, 09:28:13 PM
Let me start by saying that I'm really new to this. I've gone through and double checked my connections and inspected my solders. My voltages seem right.  When I plug everything in I get a lot of hum and only one channel through both speakers. Plus the ringing thing when I adjust the volume, which I kind of like. I checked for proper isolation on the posts. How could I have gotten it so wrong? When I checked the resistance without the batteries in T6-10 didn't respond across the ground bus on my meter, is this it?

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 02:32:26 AM
Just to rephrase, you get hum in both channels, and one of the channels through both speakers?

The ringing is microphonics.  If it gets to you a different pair of tubes will cure it.  There is a thread already about microphonics and tubes that don't have it.

Hum in the Quickie is most likely an open hot lead.  Try measuring resistance from the input RCA jack center conductor to the grid of the tube.  That will trace through the volume control.  The resistance will probably change as the volume control is changed.  Post back.

If I have your other problem right above, that is that one channel plays through both, I will have to think about it.

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #2 on: February 09, 2010, 05:57:54 AM
I'll suggest starting by having someone else double check the connections for you. A fresh set of eyes can often pick out an error right away that you might be missing because you have been concentrating on the project for a while. We do this all the time in the lab, Shawn checks my work and I check his.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Misty Vapors

Reply #3 on: February 09, 2010, 08:50:58 AM