Help a total beginner with sweet whispers anatomy

Bribase · 13106

Offline Bribase

on: February 11, 2010, 03:23:40 AM

Hey guys

I built an extended foreplay and it has been providing me with ethereal sound for a few months now. The stupid thing is I have almost no experience in how it actually works, I'm a living testament to how easy to put together these kits are! But I've got to admit I have a very silly question for you.

I'm changing my sweet whispers for some Noble 50k precision potentiometers and I'm very confused as to what is input, Output and ground.

Please forgive my ignorance

B

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 04:15:47 AM
There are three connections to a pot or attenuator.  There is a Top, Bottom and Wiper.

To identify these turn the device all the way CCW.  Measure resistance between the three connections on each channel.  Two lugs will be shorted together (wiper and bottom), the other lug (top) will show the resistance of the attenuator.  You have identified the top.  Then move the attenuator to about midpoint and the one with the least resistance to the top is the wiper. 

In a FP III the wiper is fed from the selector switch, the grid is fed from the top and the bottom is grounded.

Does that help?

Offline Bribase

Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 04:41:57 AM

Whoa Grainger! Way too complicated for me!

I was looking for answer like, looking at the sweetest whispers unit

what is terminal 11, 1 and the center pin A?

11 must be to ground right?

But I'm not sure about the STP from the center of the selector switch leading to terminal B and 1 on the sweetest whispers. Stupid of me not to know

Thanks for your help

B

Offline Grainger49

Reply #3 on: February 11, 2010, 05:15:40 AM