new attenuaotors

gkantermd · 13280

Offline gkantermd

on: March 08, 2010, 06:14:51 AM
I just received the glassman shinkoh 24 stepped attenuator to switch out the "sweet whispers" attenuators in my Foreplay III pre amp.  However, the shipping did not include any schematic and I am new at this so I am not sure which leads to place where for the glassman attenuator.  Thanks for any help.

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 07:08:30 AM
I would need a picture to even start.  A meter set on ohms and a few minutes will answer your questions if you have a good idea of what they do.

Offline dmannnnn

Reply #2 on: March 08, 2010, 09:04:48 PM
Here is a link to the Shinkoh layout from HiFi Collective.

http://www.hificollective.co.uk/kits/pdf/shinkoh_fig7.pdf

'Signal in' comes from the selector switch.  'Signal out' goes to the amplifier.  'Signal earth' goes to ground.   It shouldn't matter where the ground wire is attached to the wire that rings the non-switch side of the resistors.  I like to scrape the wires with an x-acto knife and use a little flux to ensure a good clean joint on connections like this.  Just wrap the one wire around the other with your needlenose pliers and trim the excess. 

I may be wrong, but this looks like the same configuration as Voltsecond's S5 attenuator.  If the switch ever breaks contact there will be no attenuation at all, save for the input resistor.  I like this configuration, but if you get contact bounce or the switch starts failing you will get loud pops when switching.

Here is a link to the product page.  The layout linked above is found along the left side of the page.

http://www.hificollective.co.uk/components/shinkoh_stepped_attenuator.html

Let us know how it works out.

Harmon Kardon T60 - Hagerman Bugle - Cal Audio Labs CL15
ForePlayIII - Paramount 300B's
Klipsch RF-7/Altec Model 14/Magnepan MG12

Offline Grainger49

Reply #3 on: March 09, 2010, 04:19:12 AM