Effective electromagnetic shielding?

JamieMcC · 2002

Offline JamieMcC

on: December 04, 2013, 12:28:24 AM
I found out something unexpected today, I was looking to purchase a pair of RCA Splitters and looking on their shop page these RCA end terminals caught my eye.

(https://forum.bottlehead.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi.ebayimg.com%2Ft%2F4Pcs-Pure-Copper-Gold-Plated-Hi-End-Carbon-Fiber-RCA-HI-END-AC-Audio-%2F00%2Fs%2FMTIwMFgxNjAw%2Fz%2FScwAAOxy6-tSAJEW%2F%24T2eC16J%2C%21%290E9s37F%2CGdBS%21JEVz%21Cw%7E%7E60_57.JPG&hash=fcd567cab7ed5bfc194e5718613b4cb74d30e1e5)

I thought hey they would match with the carbon top plate on the Crack I have just completed and started me thinking about making a couple of sleeves to put over my own terminals.

But what caught my eye and jogged my memory was this little sentence in the sales pitch.

"Carbon Fiber housing offer effective electromagnetic shielding"

As a newbie I don't know how and what situations this would apply with audio equipment and I solely added the carbon plate to my Crack for cosmetic reasons.

But I can offer a couple of know instances where carbon fibre is deliberately not used in manufacturing composite components due to its ability to block radio signals these are well know examples with carbon thickness of less than 1mm.

Carbon fibre mobile phone cases can block the phones signals to the point the phone becomes useless as a phone and manufacturers often use a dyed glass fibre substitute to get the same carbon look for the case but without the associated interference issues (its also about a tenth of the price of carbon).

Carbon is often used in the manufacture of radio control airplanes and gliders for its strength and light weight however the nose sections where the radio receivers are located Kevlar or e glass is substituted because again the carbon blocks the radio signals to the receivers which causes loss of control during flight.