regularly repeating buzz - Reduction preamp

jciii · 3471

Offline jciii

on: December 13, 2013, 05:10:59 AM
Hope this topic is in the right place...

Just built a reduction preamp kit. Great instructions, well thought out - great kit. But, as I am a noob at electronics, I have very little idea of where to start diagnosing a problem sound that I have.

First the sound itself: it is a buzz that goes on-off-on-off-on-off in a very regularly repeating way with maybe around a half-second period. There is hum below this, but first things first.

All resistance values are very close to values in the manual. All voltages are nearly spot on.

The reduction is grounded to the chassis on my receiver, and the TT is grounded to the reduction. TT power cord goes to receiver and the receiver and reduction are both plugged into a good power center - so not a ground issue I think.

All of my solder joints look good... any ideas where I should start to look? Many thanks in advance from this tube noob!

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 05:29:35 AM
That kind of sound is usually the preamp picking up noise from an outside source. One of the most likely sources is a cell phone. Could also be a refrigerator, computer, or other electronic device.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline fullheadofnothing

• Global Moderator
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Reply #2 on: December 13, 2013, 07:07:47 AM
First thing I'd do is remove the ground wire going between the Reduction and receiver. That ground lug is there for when you are plugging your table into the receiver. Best case scenario is it's doing nothing, worst case is it's creating noise. Overall you want to try avoiding loops; plugging the table into the receiver could also be causing problems.

Have you tried shorting the input of the Reduction to determine your noise source?
http://www.bottlehead.com/smf/index.php/topic,586.0.html

Joshua Harris