Another Quickie comes to life..

airdronian · 2545

Offline airdronian

on: January 25, 2014, 11:55:44 AM
Recently I soldered up the Quickie, and got around to testing it today.  Found I had to re-solder one of the d-cell leads that go to the rotary switch, but that was a quick fix.  Oh, I found it helps a great deal to actually turn the Quickie ON before doing the voltage tests..   :-[

Hooked it up to a test system and lo and behold it works !!  I'm in complete shock... this is my first attempt at any electronic project.  I still have to fiddle with the rotary switch but that's ok.

Thanks for providing a kit even I could make.

Mark Bridges

Offline aragorn723

Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 02:44:47 AM
Very cool, its a good feeling getting things to work  8)  Can you post some pictures?

Offline airdronian

Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 06:11:24 AM
I'd prefer not to post at the moment.  Still need to come up with a base for it.  The wiring on the underside is a bit of a dog's breakfast since I didn't know how much to trim components and had no spares in case I goofed. 

As I followed the instructions I found the "completed" pic at the end, after I had done all the steps.  Had I recognized that before I would have had better ideas on how to trim and route the wiring.  Definitely a learning experience.

I will be trying the Quickie with a little SE 6BQ5 amp soon and over the next couple months hope to try an open baffle speaker as well.  Who knows, I may be trying "The Fix" when I see what my results are then.

Mark Bridges

Offline aragorn723

Reply #3 on: January 26, 2014, 03:59:23 PM
No worries, having the experience of a first build is in education in and of itself.  The fact is, that it works, so that's all that matters. 

Offline Grainger49

Reply #4 on: January 27, 2014, 02:55:10 AM
Just my humble opinion but a Quickie build should be a prerequisite for building a Crack.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 03:42:17 AM by Grainger49 »

Offline mcandmar